Why do I blog?

I was having a conversation a few weeks ago and Memoirs of a Mad Dad came up. The person I was speaking to asked me "why do you blog?". I gave them a short answer which I cannot remember for the life of me. However since then I have been thinking about why I do this, what drives me to do this.
The answer to that question is not the short answer I gave to my colleague. It is that blogging has been an amazing outlet when I've been at my lowest. Even though I haven't spoken about what issues I may have been battling over this time, I feel like blogging about what I love most has taking me out of these battles I may have had.
I have always wanted to do something that helps people develop themselves. At work I always try to develop my staff and get them to progress in their careers. But I found that wasn't enough, blogging has been a very good tool to help me do this outside of work. I'm not saying I know all the facts about parenting or I'm the perfect father (far from it) but giving people the advice and tools to make themselves better parents, or even less stressed parents because they've tried something they would never have thought of.
As some of you may know I am eventually planning to publish what material I have on here (if I build enough material) into a book, the hobbit, lord of the rings and Harry Potter are all books about an adventure. I felt like I wanted to document my adventure of being a parent. Originally I never thought about publishing however it's becoming more of an appealing idea as time goes on and I create more material.
Since blogging I have found that there is actually a community out there of parent bloggers, I won't lie before I started this I was completely unaware this was a thing. I want to thank everyone who has supported the page and made me feel a part of this amazing community.
There you have it, that's the reason I blog. So let this post help you look into yourself and maybe influence you to write about why you blog. Feel free to message me, I love hearing people's stories and if you do a related post, share it with me as I'd love to read it.

Leave a Reply

